Home

Annual Meeting

Awards

Publications
Foundation

Leadership

About Us

Join MSERA


Mid-South Educational Research Association

Investigating today to improve education tomorrow.
MSERA logo
Leadership

A Message from the President

Franz ReneauIt is an honor and a privilege to serve as the 2017 president of the Mid-South Educational Research Association (MSERA). The association has a long and rich history. Founded in 1972 as a nonprofit incorporated educational organization, our mission is to unite, mentor, and empower members to strive for excellence in research, contribute to the body of knowledge in the field, and promote the use of research results to drive transformational change that improves the overall quality of education for the public good. The work of the association is driven by our mission.

Over the course of our 45-year history, our membership has impacted the field of education locally, regionally, nationally, and internationally. It is this legacy of excellence in education that truly defines who we are. The potential of our membership to continue to impact our field is limitless. This year, we are tapping into the collective talents that exist within our association to move MSERA forward and to bring to you a conference experience that will not only keep you engaged from start to finish, but will also keep you coming back yearly.  

Our Annual Meeting in Starkville, MS, scheduled for November 8-10, 2017, promises to showcase scholarship from across the field of education. There will be paper sessions, poster sessions, sessions covering research in progress, symposia, training sessions, dynamic keynotes, and a host of opportunities to network and get involved in the association. You will also have an opportunity to learn about the historic Mill at Mississippi State University, which once was a cotton mill dating back to 1902. I encourage you to bring a friend or two to our Annual Meeting and experience all that MSERA has to offer.

Our annual conference would not be possible without the behind the scene contributions of dedicated, committed, and talented members who are willing to serve. Our board members and committees are hard at work preparing to welcome you to the 2017 Annual Meeting.

Please explore this website to learn more about the association and our 2017 Annual Meeting. Details about the Annual Meeting will be made available on our website as they are finalized. I encourage you if you have not done so as yet to block out November 8-10, 2017, on your calendar. This will be an Annual Meeting you cannot afford to miss.

I look forward to welcoming you to our annual meeting in Starkville, MS. Together we are making MSERA strong and relevant.

See you there.

Respectfully,
Franz H. Reneau, Ph.D.
2017 MSERA President

Officers
 
President
Franz Reneau, Florida A&M University
franz.reneau@famu.edu

Vice President/President-Elect

Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, Mississippi State University
rrr102@msstate.edu

Secretary
Rachelle Miller, University of Central Arkansas 
rgmiller@uca.edu

Past President
Dustin Hebert, Northwestern State University of Louisiana
hebertd@nsula.edu

Interim Executive Director
Dustin Hebert, Northwestern State University of Louisiana
hebertd@nsula.edu

Historian
Jane Nell Luster

janenellluster@gmail.com

Alabama Director
Nancy Gaillard, University of South Alabama

ngaillard@southalabama.edu

Arkansas Director
Amy Thompson, University of Central Arkansas
athompson@uca.edu

Florida Director
Jerry Johnson, University of Central Florida

jerry.johnson@ucf.edu

Kentucky Director
Natasha Gerstenschlager, Western Kentucky University

natasha.gerstenschlager@wku.edu

Louisiana Director
Susannah Craig, Southern University

susannah_craig@subr.edu

Mississippi Director
Kenny Anthony, Mississippi State University

kva3@msstate.edu

Tennessee Director
Amy Elleman, Middle Tennessee State University

amy.elleman@mtsu.edu

SDE/LEA Representative
Vacant

Graduate Student Representative
Kasia Gallo, Mississippi State University

kgallo@colled.msstate.edu

At-Large Representatives
Abraham Andero, Albany State University
abraham.andero@asurams.edu

Lindsey Diulus, Nunez Community College
ljakiel@nunez.edu

Deborah King, McNeese State University
deborah@mcneese.edu

Deborah McCarthy, Southeastern Louisiana University
deborah.mccarthy@selu.edu

Executive Director Emeritus 
Cliff Hofwolt, Vanderbilt University
In Memoriam
 
Committee Chairpersons and Other Leadership Team Members
 
Archives
David Morse, Mississippi State University
dmorse@colled.msstate.edu

Budget Review

Randy Parker, Louisiana Tech University
doctorp@latech.edu

SRERA Liaison
Harry Bowman, Council on Occupational Education

bowmanh@comcast.net

Constitution and By-laws
Harry Bowman, Council on Occupational Education
bowmanh@comcast.net

Bobby Franklin, Mississippi College
franklin@mc.edu

Development
Larry Daniel, The Citadel
ldaniel@citadel.edu

Michelle Haj-Broussard,
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
hajbroussard@louisiana.edu

Distinguished Awards
Franz Reneau, Florida A&M University
franz.reneu@famu.edu

Distinguished Papers
Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, Mississippi State University
rrr102@msstate.edu

Evaluation
Mindy Crain-Dorough, Southeastern Louisiana University
mindy.dorough@selu.edu

Yuejin Xu, Murray State University
yxu@murraystate.edu

Foundation
Ava Pugh, University of Louisiana at Monroe
apugh@ulm.edu

Future Site
Kathy Campbell, Southeastern Louisiana University
kathleen.campbell@selu.edu

Graduate Student Advisory
Suzanne Franco, Wright State University
suzanne.franco@wright.edu

Kasia Gallo, Mississippi State University
kgallo@colled.msstate.edu
Graduate Student Mentors
Linda Morse, Mississippi State University

lmorse@colled.msstate.edu

LERA Liaison
Julie Holmes, Louisiana Tech University
jholmes@latech.edu

Local Arrangements

Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, Mississippi State University
rrr102@msstate.edu

Membership
Teresa Clark, Murray State University
tclark24@murraystate.edu

Lindsey Diulus
, Nunez Community College

ljakiel@nunez.edu

Nominations
Dustin Hebert, Northwestern State University of Louisiana
hebertd@nsula.edu

Proceedings
Tina Allen, Marshall University
allenti@marshall.edu


Publications
Vacant
 
Research in the Schools Editors
Tony Onwuegbuzie
, Sam Houston State University
tonyonwuegbuzie@aol.com

John Slate, Sam Houston State University
jrs051@shsu.edu

Researcher Editors
Julie Holmes
, Louisiana Tech University
jholmes@latech.edu

Randy Parker, Louisiana Tech University
doctorp@latech.edu

Technology
Tina Allen
, Marshall University
allenti@marshall.edu

 
View the MSERA leadership contact directory.


Facebook icon
Twitter Mid-South Educational Research Association
Since 1972